Tigers Claw Past Braves In Last Minute Victory

The Tigers pushed home three runs in the final inning of a time limit shortened game to edge the Braves, 6-5, in St. Matthews Babe Ruth Baseball play last week.

The Tigers prevailed despite collecting just two hits off three Braves pitchers. The winning run scored on a throwing error.

The Tigers drew first blood in the third inning with a three-run stanza. Jacob Finke opened the frame with a single to left, stole second, moved to third on a Brady Clark single and came home on a wild pitch. After a Matthew Pauley walk Clark scored on a balk. Pauley scored the inning’s final run on an RBI single by Riley Noe.

The Braves answered with four runs in the top of the fourth, loading the bases on a hit batter, a walk and an error. Marc O’Connell was forced home with the first Braves run of the evening when Spencer Foreman became the second hit batter of the inning. Cody Foreman delivered two runs with a two out single, moved to second on a play at the plate and was thrown out trying to reach third.

Alex Barnum scored an insurance run for the Braves in the top of the fifth, racing home on a wild pitch and setting the stage for the Tigers comeback.

Back to back walks to Finke and Clark were followed by a wild pitch and a balk that plated Finke and moved Clark to third. An Aaron Smith single to left center brought home Clark with the tying run. Pauley, who walked earlier in the inning, scored the winning run on a throwing error when Gabe Sherman grounded to short.

Chase Collins was the beneficiary of the fifth inning uprising, pitching one inning to claim the win. Cody Foreman led the Braves offensive attack with a hit and two RBIs in two at-bats. Finke and Clark were both 1-1 for the victors and scored two runs each.

In Other Action

Brandon Clark pitched seven innings of four-hit baseball to lead the Pirates to a 4-2 win over the Reds. Sam Seger’s two hits and Mitchell Tompkins’ two RBIs fueled the offense.

The St. Matthews Baseball 16U Memorial Day Weekend Tournament was won by Ryken with four wins in the double elimination tournament. The Bulldogs finished second, losing twice to Ryken.